FAQ about vegan jaffa cakes
What’s a Jaffa cake?
Jaffa Cakes are small cakes introduced to the British public in the 1920s by the McVitie’s Biscuit Company. The cake has a biscuit on the bottom, a slice of orange in the middle and dark chocolate on top.
Many people in the UK are very fond of Jaffa Cakes, so many companies have tried to capitalize on this phenomenon and produce their own versions.
Some producers made a variation which included cherry or berry slice instead of orange. But the biscuit and the chocolate were never swapped and give Jaffa cakes their distinct look.
Because Jaffa cakes got their name after Jaffa oranges, we might argue that only true Jaffa cake is the one with orange filling those with cherries or berries should be called something else instead of Jaffa.
Are Jaffa cakes vegan?
No, original Jaffa cakes are not vegan because they contain eggs. They might also contain milk in traces, but this is mostly just a precaution measure taken by producers stating that the product was produced in a factory that also processes milk.
Because only one ingredient was not vegan, making Jaffa cakes in vegan version was quite an easy task. We just had to come up with proper alternative for eggs, and there are quite many, so that wasn’t really a challenge.
Where can I buy vegan Jaffa cakes?
You cannot buy vegan Jaffa cakes because they are not being produced. Nevertheless, there are a few vegan Jaffa cake recipes besides ours available on the Internet and if you feel like it, you can make your own Jaffa at home. It might not look perfect, but it very comes close to the original taste.
I can imagine if any of the current Jaffa cake producers decided to make these delicious treats vegan, they would sell like crazy. Maybe a hint for all Jaffa cakes producers. What do you have to lose? Bringing your awesome product to the wider audience. It is a win-win situation. Think about it.
What is the jelly in Jaffa cakes made of?
Jelly in the original Jaffa cakes is made of gelling agent pectin, citric acid, concentrated orange juice, glucose syrup, humectant (glycerine) and curcumin. Producer states it contains the equivalent of 8% orange juice.
In our recipe for the vegan version of this beloved dessert we went for the simplified version with just 4 ingredients: water, orange syrup, orange oil and agar-agar. It all turned out pretty good. Firm and tasty just as it should be.
How do you make eggless Jaffa cakes?
Since only non-vegan ingredient in Jaffa cakes are eggs, you just have to find a proper vegan substitute for eggs. These often include applesauce, squashed banana, ground flax seeds, vegetable oil, tapioca gel or aquafaba. Our recipe is based on aquafaba as substitute for eggs.
Feel free to experiment with various egg substitutes and let us know how that worked for you. We really like aquafaba as it is the most neutral of all the mentioned substitutes and we are used to working with it, so it was a no-brainer to go with aquafaba instead of other options.
How to make homemade Jaffa cakes?
Homemade Jaffa cakes are done in three stages. First you have to make the orange jelly and let it cool down. The next step is to bake the biscuits and prepare the chocolate glaze. As for assembly, you take the biscuits, put the orange jelly on top of them and pour some chocolate over.
We also made the video for you to see it is a pretty straightforward process to make this delicious dessert. Just follow the steps and you should be fine. We wanted to keep it very basic but we encourage you to try adding your touch and make your version of vegan Jaffa cakes.