Yes, plenty of bags pass, and four of them say so on the maker’s own page: Smarties, YumEarth’s Halloween organic lollipops, No Whey’s Bag of Terror and Unreal’s dark chocolate peanut butter cups. Six more on our list contain nothing from an animal by their makers’ ingredient lists. All 10 are below.
The texture on the bag predicts nothing, and that is the part worth knowing before you shop. Skittles Original lists no animal ingredient. Skittles Gummies, under the same name, list gelatin as their fifth ingredient. Jolly Rancher’s gummies go the other way: their list has modified cornstarch and no gelatin. Starburst’s original fruit chews, which are not a gummy at all, contain gelatin. So neither the brand nor the chew settles it. The ingredient list on that exact bag does, and the Skittles pages add a warning worth taking to the store: packaging “with former formulations may still be found on shelves”.
The 10, side by side
We read each maker’s own product page or FAQ in October 2026. Four carry the maker’s vegan claim. The other six are vegan by their ingredient lists, which means our reading of the list, not the maker’s word, and we say which is which. For the bags that look like these and fail, there is a short list further down, and for the shellac half of the candy problem, see our guide to whether shellac is vegan.
| Candy | Vegan, per the maker? | Pack and price on the maker’s site, Oct 2026 | Allergy note, per the maker |
|---|---|---|---|
| Smarties | Yes | No price listed | Free from peanuts, tree nuts, milk, eggs and more |
| YumEarth Halloween Organic Lollipops | Yes | 60 pops, $15.99 | Free from peanuts, tree nuts, milk, eggs, soy and more |
| No Whey Bag of Terror | Yes | About 14 pretzels, $11.95 | Free from the top 9 allergens and gluten; contains chickpeas |
| Unreal Halloween Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups | Yes | 2 boxes of 20, $30.98 | Peanut butter center |
| Dum-Dums Original Mix | No claim; nothing animal listed | No price listed | No milk, eggs, peanuts or tree nuts |
| Ghost Dots | No claim; nothing animal listed | No price listed | Egg, milk and soy may be present |
| YumEarth Halloween Gummy Fruits | No claim; nothing animal listed | 35 packs, $29.99 | Described as allergy-friendly |
| Jolly Rancher Gummies Original Flavors | No claim; nothing animal listed | No price listed | Check the package, per Hershey |
| Skittles Original | No claim; nothing animal listed | No price listed | Not stated on the page we read |
| Skittles Pop’d Creepy Crunch | No claim; nothing animal listed | No price listed | Not stated on the page we read |
Bag by bag
Smarties
The only candy here whose maker answers the question in one line for its whole range: “All Smarties® products are vegetarian and vegan.” The original roll is dextrose, citric acid, calcium stearate, natural and artificial flavor and four color lakes. Calcium stearate is the ingredient that would normally send you to the maker, and here the maker has already answered. The FAQ also says the whole line is gluten-free and free from peanuts, tree nuts, milk, eggs, fish, shellfish, soy and wheat, and that packs whose UPC starts with 0 11206 come from a gluten-free facility, so the bag itself tells you which plant it came from.
Our pick for the door. The one reason to skip it is that a roll of pressed dextrose is nobody’s idea of a treat over the age of nine.
YumEarth Halloween Organic Lollipops
The best value on this list by a distance. A box of 60 was $15.99 on YumEarth’s site in October 2026, about 27 cents a pop by our arithmetic. The ingredients are organic cane sugar, organic brown rice syrup, citric acid, organic natural flavors, ascorbic acid, color from organic concentrates of carrot, apple, blackcurrant and radish, and organic turmeric extract. The page lists them as free from peanuts, gluten, tree nuts, milk, eggs, fish, shellfish, soy and sesame, and calls them “organic, non-GMO, gluten free, vegan and kosher”.
If your street expects something with a wrapper that crinkles like a candy bar, a lollipop will not satisfy it, but nothing else here covers this many doors for this little.
No Whey Bag of Terror
Chocolate-covered pretzels, about 14 individually wrapped in a 2.8 oz bag for $11.95. No Whey says they are vegan, kosher and free from the top 9 allergens and gluten, made in its own allergen-safe facility. The ingredient list opens with “vegan cane sugar”, which is the only bag on this page that answers the sugar question below on the label itself.
The catch is the price. By our arithmetic that is about 85 cents a pretzel, and the bag contains chickpeas, which matters for the rare child who reacts to them. Buy it for the classroom party where half the list has allergies; skip it for a busy street.
Unreal Halloween Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups
The chocolate answer for anyone who wants a cup that tastes like the one they grew up with. Unreal’s Halloween box is dark chocolate and peanut butter made from organic peanuts, described on its page as vegan, gluten-free and non-GMO, with 20 individually wrapped cups to a box. Two boxes were $30.98 on Unreal’s site in October 2026, about 77 cents a cup by our arithmetic.
Two cautions. Unreal also sells milk chocolate gems made with dairy, so the brand name alone is not the answer. And with peanut butter at the center, these are the wrong cups for any door where a child with a peanut allergy might knock. Keep them for your own bag.
Dum-Dums Original Mix
Sugar, corn syrup, citric acid, malic acid, salt, artificial flavor and four colors. Spangler says the pops contain no peanuts, tree nuts, milk, eggs, fish, shellfish, wheat, sesame or gluten and are made on dedicated equipment. Nothing on that list comes from an animal, and the page never uses the word vegan. The pops carry OU kosher certification and are made by Spangler Candy Company in Bryan, Ohio.
The one open question is the sugar. Spangler’s FAQ says it uses “either beet or cane sugar”, which matters only if you avoid bone char.
Ghost Dots
The Halloween version of the gumdrop, from Tootsie: corn syrup, sugar, modified food starch, malic acid, flavors, sodium citrate and one blue color. Tootsie marks the box gluten-free, peanut-free, nut-free and kosher. No gelatin, which is the thing you would worry about in a gumdrop.
The same page says “Egg, milk and soy may be present”. That is an allergy warning about what else runs through the factory, and the ingredients themselves contain none of the three. Whether a may-contain line rules a candy out for you is your own line to draw; for a child with an egg or milk allergy, it rules this one out.
YumEarth Halloween Gummy Fruits
Organic rice syrup, organic cane sugar, pectin, citric acid, ascorbic acid, natural flavors, colors from organic concentrates of apple, carrot, pumpkin and blackcurrant, organic sunflower oil and organic carnauba wax. Pectin is the gel. YumEarth sells these in a 35-count Halloween bag for $29.99, about 86 cents a pack by our arithmetic, and describes them as allergy-friendly and organic.
Unlike the lollipops from the same maker, this page does not use the word vegan, so the verdict is our reading of the list. If you want the maker’s word on the bag, buy the lollipops.
Jolly Rancher Gummies Original Flavors
Sugar, corn syrup, modified cornstarch, then malic acid, flavors, sodium citrate, mineral oil, carnauba wax and colors. That is a gummy without gelatin, from Hershey, and the most useful counterexample on this list. Hershey’s page tells you to check each package for current ingredients, which is fair warning for anything sold as a seasonal mix.
Do not assume the other Jolly Rancher shapes match. We read the gummies page, and the gummies page only.
Skittles Original
Sugar, corn syrup, hydrogenated palm kernel oil, then citric acid, tapioca dextrin, modified corn starch, flavors, colors, sodium citrate and carnauba wax. Carnauba wax comes from a palm, so it is not the problem it sounds like. No gelatin, no vegan claim either.
Skittles says the list reflects the current recipe and that older packaging may still be on shelves. So check the list on the bag you pick up, not the one on the website.
Skittles Pop’d Creepy Crunch
The Halloween Skittles, freeze-dried so they crunch. The list runs sugar, corn syrup, hydrogenated palm kernel oil, then citric acid, dextrin, modified cornstarch, flavors, sodium citrate, colors and carnauba wax. Nothing from an animal, and the same note about older packaging on shelves.
It earns its place because it is the one Halloween-only Skittles bag we found with a full list on the maker’s page, and that list has no gelatin. Just do not let it lead you to the Skittles Gummies on the next peg.
The look-alikes to leave on the shelf
Four bags sit right next to the ones above and fail. Skittles Gummies contain gelatin, and so do Starburst Original Fruit Chews. Brach’s Candy Corn fails three times over, with confectioner’s glaze (shellac), gelatin and honey on one list. Tootsie Rolls contain condensed skim milk and whey. We checked only these four, so treat them as a sample of what the aisle holds, not a complete map of it.
Reading a candy bag in ten seconds
Start with the allergen line, because it is short. It will name milk, as the Tootsie bag does, since milk is one of the 9 major allergens. It will not name gelatin, shellac or honey, so a clean allergen line is where the check starts, not where it ends.
Then look at the kosher mark. The Orthodox Union says an OU-D symbol means the product is dairy or has been made on dairy equipment, and Tootsie marks its rolls Kosher OUD. A plain OU is not a vegan mark: the OU says it means no dairy or meat derivatives, and that a plain OU can still appear on a product with a fish ingredient diluted into the rest.
Then read for the animal words: gelatin, confectioner’s glaze or shellac, honey and beeswax are the usual ones in candy. Red deserves a second look too. Federal rules require carmine and cochineal extract, both made from insects, to be named on the ingredient list when they are used as a color, so if you see neither, the red came from somewhere else. Carnauba wax and pectin both come from plants and can stay in the basket.
Last, check that the list on the bag matches the list online. Skittles says outright that older packaging is still on shelves, and Hershey and Starburst both tell you the package is the final word.
The sugar question
Some vegans also avoid cane sugar that may have been filtered through bone char. The Vegetarian Resource Group reported in 2021 that cow bone char is one of the methods cane refiners have used to decolorize sugar. On the pages we read, only No Whey answers this on the label, with “vegan cane sugar”; Dum-Dums says it uses beet or cane without saying which, and the rest say nothing. Where you draw that line is your call, and the verdicts above do not count sugar either way. For the other ingredients a candy label leaves open, start with our guide to checking whether an ingredient is vegan.
Fill the bowl with YumEarth lollipops and Smarties, keep the Unreal cups for yourself, and check every gummy bag even when the brand has passed before. The next holiday aisle is harder: our roundup of store-bought vegan Thanksgiving roasts covers which roast boxes are worth the freezer space.
Sources
- Smarties FAQs (Smarties Candy Company)
- Halloween Organic Lollipops 60ct (YumEarth)
- Bag of Terror (No Whey! Chocolate)
- Halloween Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups (Unreal)
- Skittles Original Fruity Candy Single Pack, 2.17 oz (Skittles)
- Skittles Original Gummies Candy, 5.8 oz Bag (Skittles)
- Jolly Rancher Gummies Original Flavors, 7 oz bag (Hershey)
- Starburst Original Fruit Chews Candy, Single, 2.07 oz (Starburst)
- Dum-Dums Original Mix (Spangler Candy Company)
- Ghost DOTS (Tootsie)
- Halloween Gummy Fruits 35ct (YumEarth)
- Skittles Pop’d Creepy Crunch Freeze Dried Halloween Candy (Skittles)
- Milk chocolate gems (Unreal)
- Classic Candy Corn (Brach’s)
- Tootsie Rolls (Tootsie)
- Food Allergies: What You Need to Know (FDA)
- OU Kosher Symbols Explained (Orthodox Union)
- 21 CFR 73.100, Cochineal extract; carmine (eCFR)
- Bone Char-Free Vegan Sugar Update 2021 (Vegetarian Resource Group)








